Anxiety through the roof

I don’t know what is affecting me lately but my anxiety has been sky high for the past few weeks. I don’t know if anyone else is like this, but basically I keep this ongoing list of things I need to attend to in my head (this can be as simple as going grocery shopping, responding to an email, etc. to something much bigger like…well I don’t know, scheduling something that’s super important) and if anyone tries to push me harder to attend to one of those things on the list, the more it overwhelms me. And that’s where I am at right now.

I think part of it is financial stress. I was lending money, more than I felt comfortable, to my boyfriend and this was stressing me out… but I felt as if I *had* to keep doing it. He’s paid me back all of it and a little extra and I feel a lot better now, but there is still this weird looming anxiety over me. There’s a lot going on but there is always a lot going on. Part of it may be the newest labs. I don’t really know. But now that the boyfriend will be on his own financially, I am able to focus back on my priorities. I am living beyond my means at the moment which is always scary. I just bought my first house in November and now I’m housepoor. I’m continually paranoid that something will happen to my job or something worse will happen with my health and I’ll lose everything I worked so hard to get. It’s hard not to think that way when I just watched this happen to a friend (who eventually passed away in October after losing his house and going bankrupt by medical bills).

The past couple weeks have been particularly difficult as adjusting to hormonal medication is never easy and with everything else going on, I’ve felt like tearing my hair out. I had a bad argument with my boyfriend and I’ve lost all patience for conflicts like that. There is nothing productive about casting blame, raising voices, etc. so I just gave up and said “I’m done” over and over again. He took off for awhile and I had some time to think about whether or not I cared if everything just ended right then and there.

Frankly, I am used to going about life on my own. This makes it difficult to let people close to me. Also with my history of letting the WRONG people close to me, I do worry about making those choices again. I love him, but I don’t *need* anyone. It sounds even more cynical now that I have written it out… but honestly this is how I feel. I have such little desire for this kind of drama. I have no energy to dedicate to it. So now added to my long list of “to do” items is to have a serious discussion with him about who I am and what types of things really strike nerves that I’d rather not be struck. While he and I originally met over a decade ago, we didn’t truly get to know each other until recently, specifically the past five months. He’s new to dating someone with chronic pain/illness and some incredibly insensitive things have been said. I lost my temper. I really feel at the end of my rope lately.

Perhaps related, twice in the past couple weeks I have noticed some extreme flushing of my throat and chest. This is new to me, so I don’t really know what’s causing it. Perhaps the stress/anxiety is getting so bad it’s causing my blood pressure to rise? I’ve almost always had low/low-normal blood pressure. But I also fear things may be different now that I have received these results in my labs with the incredibly elevated lipoprotein A levels… I am talking completely out of my ass here, because I don’t know enough yet about how/why these levels are SO high. It scares me though, because I have a few items in my labs that point to increasing risk of developing blood clots, stroke or heart attack.

I feel quite a bit out of control of the situation, as my cholesterol levels are fine. There doesn’t appear to be much I can do about the way things are right now. Also, I think I have experienced a flaring up of the Epstein-Barr virus. I think I noted in a previous entry that those levels were higher than normal on my latest labs as well. For the past week and some change, I have had an extremely sore throat, swollen tonsils and pus on my tonsils/back of my throat. A doctor I saw was so convinced it was strep throat that I was given antibiotics before the culture results came in. When they did, it was negative for strep and determined to be a viral infection.

I’m starting to wonder if I should just push to have my tonsils removed. I tried years ago but now a couple practitioners have tried to steer me away from that, saying the risks outweigh the possible benefits.

Yesterday was a bit rough but I ended up meeting up with a friend I haven’t seen in years who was just recently diagnosed with fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome. I talked to her a lot about treatment, symptoms, etc. and let her know I’m here any time she needs to talk, because I GET it. If I could just find a job being some kind of advocate for people going through these things, I would be SO pleased. I just really want to help people so even if it seems I have made at least minimal impact, I’m happy about it.

I’ve exhausted myself just typing this entry… more at another time. If anyone has favorite stress relieving tips, I would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

