Active Epstein-Barr virus

One of the troubling items I have noticed in my blood work over the past year is a fluctuation with the Epstein-Barr virus. For those who are unaware, this is the virus that causes mono. I had mono when I was 18 or 19 and usually what happens is the virus goes dormant, but will show in blood work. However, the levels have changed over the course of three or four different blood tests which suggests this virus is still active. Does anyone out there have any experience with active Epstein-Barr virus? I’ve read some things, but you know how reading about medical stuff on the internet can go. I don’t want to induce a panic attack for no good reason. I am wondering though if this is to blame for some of my fatigue and maybe some of the other indicators of infection in my labs. There are a few things pointing to inflammation or infection in my body that my doctor and I have yet to nail down. So, anyone with any information out there for me regarding Epstein-Barr?

2 comments on “Active Epstein-Barr virus

  1. dif4us says:

    If you don’t mind me asking, what kind of blood work do you get regularly tested on?

    • Well, there are pages and pages of results, each time I get about 14 vials drawn, so there are a lot of tests. I could type it all out, but if there is something you are specifically wondering about, it would help me pare down the list quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

