Good news

For the first time in 11 years, I received normal pap smear results! Long ago, I had many troubles with my reproductive system and eventually precancerous cells were found on my cervix when I was 22 years old. I had to go through surgery to remove quite a large portion of my cervix, which may or may not have rendered me unable to have children. Luckily, I have never had plans to give birth.

After surgery, it was required I go in for check ups every three months to make sure all the precancerous cells were gone and to make sure I was recovering. I’d still end up with abnormal pap results, but nothing that required action. Finally, today, I received results in the mail with the words “Good news!” hand written on top of the paper. I almost jumped for joy! Now I only have to go in every three years for a pap. After one year of every-three-month pap smears, I went to yearly ones, and now every three years FINALLY! This makes me so happy.

I hope for more good news soon regarding my other medical stuff!

4 comments on “Good news

  1. Tara says:

    Isn’t it frustrating have your reproductive system be such a source of problems when you weren’t ever planning on having kids anyway? Congratulations on the good news!

    • Yes! I agree, I’m not even sure why I have the estrogen of a 60 year old but I’m kind of okay with it except for the problems it poses for me, unrelated to making babies. 😛

Leave a Reply

